Month: September 2012

  • Have you ever tried to quit?

    I’m trying to stop drinking caffeine..specifically pop. I’m trying to do one a day for now…but I still feel exhausted. The headaches I can deal with, but I can’t stand feeling this tired all the time..

    Have you ever tried to quit caffeine? What helped you feel less tired? I really need some help!! :/

  • Why do people cry at weddings?

    I got emotional a few times during the ceremony..teared up. I just felt like I’ll never get married..and I want to so badly… Oh, I didn’t say on here…my former coworker got married today, Ameer. I used to ask him all the time when him and Jenny were going to get married, and he finally proposed last year. I feel so happy for them, he’s a good guy. But it was a beautiful ceremony, I was glad to be there. The food at the reception was good, chicken with mushrooms and some kind of sauce, salad, rigatoni with mozzarella cheese, and something else. I feel so tired…and the cake was delicious.

    It was good to see everyone. The reception was beautiful. Oh, the colors were black, white, and red. I wore shoes I shouldn’t have. Halfway through the night I took them off and walked barefoot, I didn’t even care (and I can’t type, I keep having to hit the delete button…) Annnd, I had three shots of Patron O.O The lime makes it better…it’s not so bad. They played songs like these:

    I don’t see how you can hate from outside of the club, you can’t even get it! I dare you to try and rap the Busta Rhymes parts…

    Every time I burp I can taste Patron.. (I’m not drunk, promise. The first two shots were at about 5, then the last one I took about 45 minutes before I left…so no driving drunk..)

    Anyway. Home now, glad to be…got rid of some more candles that were sold..yay.

  • Aliens

    I was just commenting on someone’s blog and I went and searched for the Aliens meme to link in my comment…and saw a whole bunch of hilarious memes of this guy…and I just had to post about it..because I’ve literally been laughing my ass off for about 20 minutes over these things. I don’t know who this guy is, or what the story is with this meme..but I find it hilarious.

    (Also, as a note, I ordered some sample sizes of body wash, bubble bath, body cream, body lotion, and organic body lotion and I’m going to mix up two scents for each sample: Fruit Basket [citrus fruity scent] and Sexy Amber [Golden amber, pink lotus petals, plum and creamy sandwood all blended together in this awesome combination]. So there will be one sample of each scent for each product [so one body wash, bubble bath, body cream, body lotion, and organic body lotion for Fruit Basket and one of each for Sexy Amber]. I am looking for testers for these products, to give me feedback on what they think of them. I only ask that the tester pay for shipping, but you get the product for free…and each sample will be 1.5oz of product. If you’re interested, please let me know!)

    And now, MEMES!!!

  • I had a dream

    No, this isn’t about King’s speech…because I truly did have a dream last night…

    In my dream, I made shower gels, soaps, and candles in the same scent and sold them as gift baskets. The reason I didn’t include “candles” in my company name is because I was *planning* on expanding into making other things such as soap. So, now I have a dream about it, lol!

    What do you guys think? I’m thinking of doing a trial run of shower gel…I haven’t thought of any scents yet, because it’s just an idea.

    Also, I apologize for my breakdown last night. I was just really frustrated. I started writing a little bit..maybe something will come of it, I’m not sure.

    I’m going to play with makeup now…so please excuse me :D

  • What the fuck are you even talking about

    When you tell me that I’m a good writer? I don’t see it. All I see is elementary language, crude in its composition. Stop lying to me, and I’m not fucking kidding. I’m pissed at every person who has ever told me that my writing is good, because it’s NOT.

    This is what I have, and it’s absolute, motherfucking shit. FUCKING UGH… THE LACK OF BEAUTIFUL WORDS MAKES ME SICK…

    Rita sat on the rock, gazing at the sunset. The ball of fire was nearly at the horizon and on the other side of the sky the stars were starting to show. The sky was on fire, with brilliant oranges, reds, and pinks lighting it up. The desert was starting to get chilly from the lack of sunlight and she wrapped her arms around her sides, hugging herself within her hoodie. She knew she should leave her cave, but she couldn’t will herself to move. The wolves and coyotes would start howling at the moon soon, yet she sat on her rock, just outside it. She snapped a picture of this sunset in her mind as she watched the sun sink ever lower. Twilight descended on her as she eyed the stars, finally standing. The moon lit the path back to her Jeep and she climbed in with a heavy heart. She knew what she had to do. It didn’t sit well with her, but she had to. Rita had to die.

  • Is the TV your babysitter?

    I watched this video the other day, and I just felt like I needed to blog about it. I do not have kids, but I’m around kids a lot, and I’ve thought about how I’m going to raise my future kids, and I agree with this video. I’m not going to let the TV become some sort of babysitter because I want them to be distracted. I’m going to interact with them, play with them, have arts and crafts time, etc. Minimal TV will be watched by my kids, and if there is TV involved, it will be something educational and enriching. There will not be anything mindless TV being watched. Kids learn the most by being interactive with their environments…we can see this from the very beginning, when they’re infants. When they start learning that they can hold something in their hand by curling their fist..when they see that something moves when it’s kicked, etc. They can learn from watching TV, but not as well…and are they learning the right things?

    Also, why are kids more sassy? What do you think the root cause(es) are? Is it because of TV?

  • Problem: Solved

    …Maybe.

    I went to my sister Rachel’s apartment yesterday, and told her that I would have to be moving to mom’s sometime soon because I need to move out of here. Her boyfriend Josh suggested that we all get a two bedroom together. So we went to the front office and asked if it would be possible to move into a two bedroom even though they had just signed a lease. The guy said there would be a $400 transfer fee, and rent would be $980 a month for a two bedroom. So, I think we can manage that, since all three of us would be putting money towards rent. Though, I think my bedroom would be smaller..I would just have to put all my movies out in the living room, and possibly my bookcase.

    I asked my dad, and he said he was looking at moving in February -_- Moving in the cold suuuuucks!! Well, moving in the summer sucks too, I suppose, because it’s hot..I think spring and fall are the best times to move, because the temperature is just right for all that physical activity.

    I feel so tired…but I have to finish reading this book for class tonight…I have Caribou…vanilla white chocolate mocha…noms. I have to do laundry…meh. Maybe I’ll have time to peruse Xanga later…hope everyone has a good day!!

  • Modesty…and lack thereof

    Like a lot of things, I find that my opinion on this has changed lately. In the past, I’ve seen modesty differently. I used to think, “well, if she’s got it, she can flaunt it,” …as long as it’s at least tasteful. However, I’ve taken a step back, and thought about the direction this is going. I’ve thought about the past compared to how we see things today. I’ve also thought about religions and modesty.

    I think a lot of our ideas on modesty comes from religion. When we think about covering ourselves because of religion, most people think about Muslims. However, this view is not at all accurate. My history class is in European history, from 1450-1789. Prior to learning about this, we learned a general overview of the history of the Church, as life in this time period centered heavily around the Church and Christianity in Europe. There was no separation of Church and State in those times, and many laws were built around what was or was not acceptable in the Christian faith. Covering one’s hair was also a Christian value. In fact, if a woman was a prostitute, she was *not* allowed to cover her hair, and in some areas this was regulated by law.

    The reason a woman was required to cover herself was because women were thought to be unclean creatures, sub-human compared to men, and that the general nature of women was to be wanton and overtly sexual, devious creatures. In order to “save face,” a woman was required to cover herself to show that she was not an unclean woman.

    I do not believe in this harsh, strict view of women, that we are sexually devious or unclean, simply because of the religious connotations. I do, however, think that women should show some respect for themselves. I think that with the rise of feminism, women have started to think that we are all-powerful, strong women and we can wear whatever we want simply because we can (yes, I am generalizing..). I think that with this mindset, we have gotten away from valuing ourselves as human beings; that we sexualize ourselves in a manner that is unbecoming.

    Don’t get me wrong, I used to appreciate the view of some cleavage, and I used to sometimes show a little myself. But honestly, it just disgusts me now. I see people out in public with their boobs hanging out and I literally feel disgusted. And really, I don’t know what’s worse: the fact that a woman does it, or the fact that a man values it. Our bodies are something that is to be valued, and what does that say about us if we value half naked women? I believe that there’s something to being modest. Not that we have to wear turtle necks, but we shouldn’t have our boobs popping out of our shirts.

    Part of the reason I was inspired to write this post was because I walked downstairs the other day, and my dad and sister were watching The Voice. I swear, every time I see that show, Christina Aguilera’s boobs are popping out (to be fair, when I searched for photos for this post, there have been times she’s properly covered), and I felt really disgusted. I called her a skank, and my dad goes, “well I like it!” Yes, I’m sure you do…because men these days idolize immodesty.

    To me, this is just gross. It’s not feminine, and it’s not beautiful. I think in properly covering oneself, it adds mystery and wonder. I’ve never done this, but I think there’s something truly beautiful in the hijab:

    This is feminine. I’m not saying that people should dress this way..but there should be more coverage, and more respect of oneself. Dressing skanky because you have the body to, because you think you can, doesn’t mean you respect yourself. I think it says the opposite. You’re objectifying your body because you’re lacking something else in your mind…whatever it may be.

    Also, I believe there is a difference between art and dressing slutty, just have to clarify that.

    The reason I don’t think this direction is good is because…what is it teaching the next generation? The kids of today? They see Christina on The Voice and they think that dressing like this is okay. It takes a parent to step in and say, no, this is not how people with values dress. It’s teaching kids that seeing their body as an object of sexual persuasion is okay, which I don’t believe it is. I think it’s the wrong direction to go in, and I think it’s gone too far. This is only part of the reason I no longer value anything pop culture.

    Anyhow, these are just my thoughts on the subject. I’d be interested in hearing yours.

  • I’m effing exhausted

    I feel like sleeping for a million years. It started on Thursday when I spent all day making candles…or was that Wednesday? I have no idea. Then the next night I spent all night cutting the labels and gluing them on..then last night was a really bad night. Sorry to everyone who was on Tiny Chat last night…seeing a break down in action…meh. Now today my eyes are sore from crying and I feel exhausted. Maybe part of the tiredness is that I haven’t been drinking as much caffeine the last few days. I have been getting headaches from that. I notice that I do get tired when I don’t have as much caffeine in my system. All I feel like doing is nothing and sleeping. I’ve been watching Doctor Who all morning though, just started season 5. And I packaged and shipped a couple of orders. Speaking of, all stock is sold! I need to start planning my next order…and it’s going to be full of autumn/holiday scents..maybe a floral or fruity one and a fresh scent. I really do enjoy Spring Rain. I need to reconfigure shipping prices, because it’s a lot more expensive once enough candles are ordered to be put into a box…so I will say that 1 small candle will remain $2.50 and add $.50 until 4 candles. At 5, the price will have to increase to $7.

    Anyway, I just thought I would do a little update. I might go pass out now…

  • Lazy…

    I skipped school today and I was only halfway productive…I cleaned my room…and that’s pretty much it.

    You know how, when you sometimes smell something when you’re really sick that scent forever becomes sickening to you every time you smell it?? :/

    I have to print warning labels and put them on the bottoms of the tins before I wrap them up for shipping…

    This hat….*drool*

    This outfit….

    And this hat…okay….I have to stop now…

    By the way, have you been to @LKJSlain‘s Etsy Store?! So many awesome stuffs…including new steampunk pieces!!

    Speaking of Etsy…I think the next batch of candles will be placed on my Etsy :D

    Also…this…